Different Types of Full Moon Energy

The moon rotates around the Earth each month. This is known as the moon cycle. It begins with a new moon, which is associated with fresh starts. Then comes the waxing phase, where the moon appears to be growing- which is why we associate this phase with growth. The waxing moon ultimately turns into the most infamous moon phase: the full moon. After the full moon comes the waning phase, in which the moon appears to grow smaller and is a beautiful time for protection work. Following the waning moon is the new moon bringing new beginnings and fresh starts once again! Some folks break it down even further, see below. 

The eight phases of the Moon in order are:

  • new Moon
  • waxing crescent Moon
  • first quarter Moon
  • waxing gibbous Moon
  • full Moon
  • waning gibbous Moon
  • last quarter Moon
  • waning crescent Moon.

We could get into way more into detail about all that, but lets keep going! 

For this class we will focus only on the FULL MOON. The moon makes its way through all 12 astrological signs as it makes its way around the earth 12 times a year. (Because our modern calendar isn’t quite in line with the Moon’s phases, sometimes we get more than one full moon in a month. This is sometimes known as a blue moon.)

 Each time we experience the full moon, the energy is slightly different. 

The Full Moon is a time for release. This is true for each month. The difference is the astrological sign it falls under. For example, the soft and caring energy of Cancer will feel differently than the intense Full Moon in Capricorn. Both will help you release, but it their own ways.  In one way we can compare it to our own friends! Say you want advice or suggestions to help you make a decision, so you decide to ask a friend. We all have that one friend who will tell it exactly like it is- with no fluff. They will help you see what is best for you, but will deliver it- bluntly!   Another friends style is more gentle with their responses, and talks you through as you come to the answer that is most helpful. Both friends are equally important to have, they just have different styles of communicating, and showing up for you. This is what makes each friend so important to have! 

We can think of the different energies of each Full Moon like a different friend. Some are more blunt as others are softer, which can be noticeable if you are sensitive to energy. You can research each month on the internet, or you can join my Full Moon Circles each month to get a mini lesson about that particular full moon and what it is asking to release. 

Aries Full Moon

Aries is the initiator of every cycle of manifestation. The Aries personality may be reckless and impulsive. When aligned with soul intent, Aries moves the creative impulse to toward a new goal.

Taurus Full Moon

Taurus provides us with the desire and drive to push ahead against all obstacles. When that desire is transformed into aspiration the goal becomes illumination.

Gemini Full Moon

Gemini brings to our awareness the duality of all manifested life. We come to know ourselves as dual beings ─ mental and emotional, higher mind and lower mind, and finally soul and personality.

Cancer Full Moon

In Cancer our awareness is centered on the form side of life. It is the Mother aspect, the womb of time and the identification of self with mass consciousness. The Cancer form receives and holds Father-spirit.

Leo Full Moon

Leo marks the birth of self-consciousness. Leo identity resides first with the self-centered ego and then later becomes self-consciousness centered in the soul.

Virgo Full Moon

Virgo is the sign of the virgin mother. She holds the hidden Christ in her womb. The Virgo personality can be critical, but as she evolves she assumes responsibility for nurturing the divine life within.

Libra Full Moon

Libra is the balance point in the zodiac. It is the decision point that we face each moment when we choose to think and act selfishly or to direct our path toward selfless, spiritual service.

Scorpio Full Moon

Scorpio is the sign of the triumphant disciple. As a personality, Scorpio can deliver a harmful scorpion sting. However, once on the spiritual path, trials and struggles no longer slow the disciple’s progress.

Sagittarius Full Moon

Sagittarius is the sign of the seeker. In Sagittarius, we evolve from associating ourselves with the material side of life to identifying with our spiritual goals. The archer hits his mark and moves to the next goal.

Capricorn Full Moon

Capricorn is the sign of the initiate. It is the symbol of the goat climbing up the mountain. As a personality, Capricorn can be willful and selfishly driven, but when motivated by spiritual will the mountain top becomes attainable.

Aquarius Full Moon

Aquarius is the sign of the world server. The goal of Aquarius is group consciousness. The Aquarius personality may be focused on narrow instinctual pursuits. When the soul is in control, Aquarius moves us to join with others to improve the lives of all beings.

Pisces Full Moon

Pisces is the sign of the world savior. As Aries is the beginning of everything, Pisces is the end of all cycles. The Pisces personality tends to be fluid and emotional. With evolution Pisces brings clear vision, insight and a fine intuitive sensitivity.